The Fleshtones – Way Down South Live

The Fleshtones performing Way Down South live at Enmore Theatre in Sydney on 22 April 2012

Love live music? SUBSCRIBE for thousands more live videos and new gigs uploaded weekly:

Often tagged as garage-rock revivalists, the Fleshtones like to mix the fuzz-guitar and Farfisa organ sounds of that genre with rockabilly, ’50s and ’60s R&B, and surf into a potent retro stew the group likes to call “Super Rock.” The group formed in 1976 in Queens with vocalist/keyboardist Peter Zaremba, guitarist Keith Streng, bassist Jan Marek Pukulski, and drummer Bill Milhizer, and aimed to return rock and roll to the simplicity and unself-consciousness of the ’50s and early-’60s.

The group fit nicely into New York’s punk and new wave scene, and an early single, “American Beat,” attracted the attention of independent label Red Star and, in time, I.R.S. The group’s debut EP, Up-Front, was released in 1980 and was followed by their first full-length album, Roman Gods, and Blast Off!, an unreleased studio album recorded for Red Star in 1978.

In 1983 the group produced Hexbreaker, widely regarded as the Fleshtones’ finest album. The band continued to record through the ’80s and released Powerstance in 1992 and Beautiful Light in 1994. While the group’s popularity dipped under the radar in the last half of the ’90s, in 2003 the group bounded back when they were signed to the potent indie label Yep Roc Records and released one of their best albums, Do You Swing. An equally solid follow-up, Beachhead, was issued in 2005, and was produced in part by Detroit garage rock kingpin Jim Diamond. Fleshtones side projects include Keith Streng’s band Full Time Men, which featured R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck, and Peter Zaremba’s Love Delegation.

The Fleshtones continue to record and perform with a wit, passion, and energy that few bands can top.

THE MUSIC MACHINE – 1966 – "Talk Talk"

The Music Machine (1965–1969) was an American garage rock and psychedelic (sometimes referred to as garage punk) band from the late 1960s, headed by singer-songwriter Sean Bonniwell and based in Los Angeles. The band sound was often defined by fuzzy guitars and a Farfisa organ. Their original look consisted of all-black clothing, (dyed) black moptop hairstyles and a single black glove.

The group came together as The Ragamuffins in 1965, but became The Music Machine in 1966. In addition to Bonniwell, the original line-up consisted of Ron Edgar (drums), Mark Landon (guitar), Keith Olsen (bass), and Doug Rhodes (organ).

Their debut album, “(Turn On) The Music Machine”, was released in 1966 on the Original Sound label. Seven of the twelve tracks were originals, written by Bonniwell. One of these, “Talk Talk”, became a Top 20 hit in the U.S. The follow-up single, “The People In Me”, peaked at No. 66. Bonniwell blamed the weak showing of this single on a supposed feud between the band’s manager and a top record executive. Four cover songs were included on this release, due to record company pressure.

After a promotional tour of the U.S., the rest of the original line-up (Edgar, Landon, Olsen, and Rhodes) left Bonniwell, due to internal conflicts. Rhodes and Edgar subsequently teamed with Curt Boettcher and others to record as part of The Ballroom and The Millennium.

In 1967, Music Machine (essentially only Bonniwell at this point) were signed to Warner Bros. and renamed The Bonniwell Music Machine. The name was changed to give more prominence to the band’s core member, songwriter and vocalist. A self-titled LP was released that year, made up mostly of previously recorded singles with the original line-up. The recording spawned no big hits, despite the inclusion of a few more pop-oriented songs.

A third Music Machine album was recorded but never released. In 2000, a Bonniwell Music Machine album called “Ignition” was released on Sundazed Records. This is a collection of songs from the unreleased 1969 album, as well as demo tracks from the band’s Raggamuffin days in 1965.

In 1996, Bonniwell self-published a memoir called “Talk Talk”, which was later revised and re-titled “Beyond The Garage”, published by the small press Christian Vision. He died of lung cancer on December 20, 2011.


Sean Bonniwell – Lead Vocals
Mark Landon – Guitar
Keith Olsen – Bass
Doug Rhodes – Organ
Ron Edgar – Drums

Naz Nomad And The Nightmares – The Wind Blows Your Hair (1984)

Naz Nomad And The Nightmares – The Wind Blows Your Hair
from LP Give Daddy The Knife Cindy (Big Beat) 1984
originally by The Seeds (1967)
written by Sky Saxon

Naz Nomad And The Nightmareds was a project of the punk band The Damned. They made only this one LP and all here are cover songs from the 60’s except two originals

The band:

Naz Nomad (=Dave Vanian) (vocals,tambourine)
Sphinx Svenson (=Roman Jugg) (guitar)
Buddy Lee Junior (=Bryn Merrick) (bass)
Ulla (=Roman Jugg) (farfisa organ)
Nick Detroit (=Rat Scabies) (drums)

The songs :

Nobody But Me (Human Beinz)
Action Woman (Litter)
The Wind Blows Your Hair (The Seeds)
Kicks (Paul Revere & The Riders)
Cold Turkey (Big Boy Pete)
She Lied (Rockin’ Ramrods)
I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night) (Electric Prunes)
The Trip (Kim Fowley)
I Can Only Give You Everything (Them / The Troggs)
Can’t Stand This Love Goodbye (The Others)
(Do You Know) I Know (original)
Just Call Me Sky (original)